Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Garamendi Secures Every California Democrat’s Support for Transportation Emergency Relief Funds Availability Act

October 28, 2019
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC—Today, Congressman John Garamendi (D-CA) announced that all 45 members of California’s Democratic Congressional Delegation have cosponsored his  “Transportation Emergency Relief Funds Availability Act” (H.R.3193), which would safeguard federal funding for disaster-recovery transportation projects statewide.

“California’s Democratic Congressional Delegation is united in stopping the Trump Administration from clawing back disaster-recovery funding for highway and transportation projects across our state,” said Congressman Garamendi. “Californians are facing increasingly frequent and severe floods and wildfires due to climate change. They deserve nothing less than the full-throated support of their federal government, and that’s exactly what our bill ensures. I thank my Democratic colleagues for their support and look forwarding to working with them to pass this important bill for California into law.”

Current U.S. Department of Transportation regulations allow the federal government to claw back “emergency relief” funding for highway and public transportation projects if those projects do not reach construction within two fiscal years of being awarded federal funds. In January 2019, the Federal Highway Administration denied the California Department of Transportation’s (Caltrans) request for 1-year extensions for 66 out of 73 projects statewide. During previous administrations, such 1-year extensions were routinely granted.

The “Transportation Emergency Relief Funds Availability Act” (H.R.3193) would repeal the current 2-year regulatory deadline and provide up to 6 years for transportation projects funded through an Emergency Relief Program to advance to construction. The new 6-year deadline would start following the date on which a disaster was declared by the respective state’s governor or the president.

The “Transportation Emergency Relief Funds Availability Act” (H.R.3193) is supported by the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans), California State Association of Counties, and the Governor's Office of Emergency Services (CalOES).

A copy of the Federal Highway Administration’s January 31, 2019, letter to Caltrans Director Berman is available here.

A copy of the 73 “Emergency Relief” funded projects in California is available here.

The California Democratic Congressional Delegation cosponsoring Congressman Garamendi’s bill (H.R.3193) consists of the following Representatives. As a general practice, the Speaker of the House does not cosponsor legislation:

California 2Jared Huffman 

California 3John Garamendi 

California 5Mike Thompson 

California 6Doris O. Matsui 

California 7Ami Bera 

California 9Jerry McNerney 

California 10Josh Harder 

California 11Mark DeSaulnier 

California 13Barbara Lee 

California 14Jackie Speier 

California 15Eric Swalwell 

California 16Jim Costa 

California 17Ro Khanna 

California 18Anna G. Eshoo 

California 19Zoe Lofgren

California 20Jimmy Panetta 

California 21T.J. Cox 

California 24Salud O. Carbajal 

California 25Katie Hill 

California 26Julia Brownley 

California 27Judy Chu 

California 28Adam B. Schiff 

California 29Tony Cárdenas 

California 30Brad Sherman 

California 31Pete Aguilar 

California 32Grace F. Napolitano 

California 33Ted Lieu 

California 34Jimmy Gomez 

California 35Norma J. Torres 

California 36Raul Ruiz

California 37Karen Bass 

California 38Linda T. Sánchez 

California 39Gilbert Ray Cisneros

California 40Lucille Roybal-Allard 

California 41Mark Takano 

California 43Maxine Waters 

California 44Nanette Diaz Barragán 

California 45Katie Porter 

California 46Luis Correa 

California 47Alan S. Lowenthal 

California 48Harley Rouda 

California 49Mike Levin 

California 51Juan Vargas 

California 52Scott H. Peters 

California 53Susan A. Davis