Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Garamendi Honors 50 Local Women at Annual Women of the Year Awards

October 25, 2019
Press Release

WOODLAND, CA – Today, at his 6th annual Women of the Year event, Congressman John Garamendi (D-Fairfield, Yuba City, Davis, CA) honored 50 women from throughout the Third Congressional District of California who are leaders and visionaries in their communities. The women have all made significant contributions to society through public service, business, education, and local advocacy.

 “One of the highlights of my year, every year, is hosting this event to recognize the achievements of these distinguished women,” said Garamendi. “These leaders come from a variety of backgrounds, but every one of them has made a real difference to their communities and the people around them. It’s a privilege to be able to honor them.”

This year’s Women of the Year Event included a posthumous tribute and recognition of Natalie Corona—the Davis police officer who was tragically killed during her service to the community earlier this year.

“Officer Corona was a bright member of the Davis Police Department. Even prior to completing her police training last December, Officer Corona was respected by her colleagues and friends for her commitment to serving her community and dedication to her fellow officers. She selflessly served and protected her community and will be remembered and honored for her dedication to making the city of Davis a safer environment for all,” Garamendi said.

Women of the Year Recipients

A full list of the recipients is listed below:

Colusa County

Natalie Corona

Rosemary Hicks

Roberta James

Jen Roberts

Kim Travis

Diane Vafis

Glenn County

Mary Rose Kennedy

Vangie Porras

Lake County

Tina Viramontes

Sacramento County

Diana Fuentes-Michel

Vajra Watson

Kristina Wiley

Solano County

Jill Cook

Jenalee Dawson

Patricia Dennis

Ana Dineen

Kathleen Heeran

Jaye Hurt

Erica Hurtado

Juantia Menefee

Pat Nicodemus

Margaret Renn

Beth Rowe

Heather Sanderson

Cherie Schroeder

Dee Tokiwa

Sarah Villec

Sutter County

Bobbi Abold

Navjot Bala-Singh

Neelam Dhinsa Canto-Lugo

Nancy Geweke Elrod

Kellie Geweke Sheeran

Julie Gill

Joyce Hammond

Navneet Randhawa

Jeanine Werner

Yolo County

Lisa Baker

Vinita Domier

Deborah Dunham

Catherine Farman

Kelly Heung

Jenn Rexroad

Lynn Rolston

Harmony Scopazzi

Cathy Speck

Tracy Tomasky

Yuba County

Denise Burbank

Abbie Cesena

Glenda Nelson