Congressman John Garamendi

Representing the 3rd District of California
Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Garamendi and 22 Armed Services Democrats Introduce Bill to Boost Unity and Deterrence Against Russian Aggression

June 22, 2017
Press Release

Washington, DC – Today, Congressman John Garamendi (D-CA), House Armed Services Committee Ranking Member Adam Smith (D-WA), and 21 other original co-sponsors introduced the Fostering Unity Against Russian Aggression Act of 2017. A summary of the bill is available here and its text can be found here. Garamendi and Smith made the following statements about the bill:

“Under President Putin, Russia’s aggressive actions on the world stage have destabilized Europe, supported brutal dictators in the Middle East, and threatened the foundations of our democracy here in the United States,” said Garamendi. “President Trump has not taken these threats seriously, so Congress must take action. Ranking Member Smith’s bill instructs the Secretary of Defense to take steps to secure our interests, reassure our allies, and push back against Russia’s provocations. Just as importantly, this bill includes a crucial provision on increasing strategic stability between Russia and the United States and ways to reduce tensions and the potential for conflict. I hope that these efforts are included in the National Defense Authorization Act of 2018 as it moves through the Committee process.”

“I am pleased to work with Congressman Garamendi on this bill to forcefully and responsibly counter Russian aggression, its violation of arms treaties, and its campaign to erode democratic values worldwide,” said Smith. “It is time for Congress to lead on this issue, especially given President Trump’s unwillingness take the danger seriously. This bill adopts an intelligent and proactive approach to strengthening allied and partner defenses, increasing deterrence, and boosting our cohesion while requiring measures to reduce the risk of miscalculation and accidental nuclear war.”

The bill’s original co-sponsors are Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA), Ranking Member Adam Smith (D-WA), Rep. Bob Brady (D-PA), Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA), Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI), Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN), Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU), Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT), Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA), Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA), Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX), Rep. Donald Norcross (D-NJ), Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA), Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI), Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH), Jep. Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Rep. Donald McEachin (D-VA), Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Rep. Anthony Brown (D-MD), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (D-FL), Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), and Rep. Thomas Suozzi (D-NY).